Skip to main content
affiche de l'exposition Magical Theatres

Magical Theatres

Exhibition on paper theatres

The paper theatre, miniature theatre or table top theatre was once a source of pleasure for young and old. These days, it has sunk into oblivion. The Magical Theatres exhibition brings back to life the magical world of this toy, its fantastic colourful decors and its small paper actors. The Halle Gate opens the doors onto a world full of stories, from Shakespeare plays to the tales of the Grimm Brothers.

These delightful works of art, that appeared two centuries ago, reflect the magnificent European theatre stages and give insight in the private world of 19th-century families. The exhibition reveals complete theatres from this period and wonderful uncut original paper stages. Creations by contemporary artists are also on display. You will be amazed by virtual dramatisations. Younger visitors are guided by a paper puppet, Puss in Boots.

The exhibition is situated on the third floor of the magnificent Halle Gate Museum building.  In a permanent presentation, this vestige of the second surrounding wall of Brussels reveals the period in which the city was fortified and offers impressive panoramic views from its rampart walk. The annual temporary exhibitions focus on different aspects of day-to-day life in the past and present, and often find their inspiration in the European Ethnology collections of the Royal Museums of Art and History.

Your exhibition ticket gives you an audioguide and access to the exhibition, as well as the permanent presentation and panoramic view. The ticket also offers the possibility to attend a puppet show of the Théâtre Royal de Toone of Brussels at a reduced price (for more information www.toone.be).

Magical Theatre théâtre miniature 1

Miniature Theatre Neurenberg, ca. 1830, Painted wood

Miniature Theatre Neurenberg, ca. 1830, Painted wood

chat botté

Puss in Boots

Puss in Boots

Marionnette Magical Theatres

marionnette in the exhibition Magical Theatres

marionnette, Theatre Family Van Weymeersch, 1828-1864

Practical information

Admission prices:

Tickets can be bought at the desk or online, per timeslot. Print your tickets beforehand or keep them ready on a mobile device. Present your card at the reception desk on the day of your visit if you ordered a special ticket (with reduction or free) (for example: museumPassmusée).

€ 10: adults (19-64 years)
€ 8: 65 +, adult group (min. 15 persons), FED+ card
€ 6: Students with valid student card (18+), People with disabilities and escort, Job seekers and integration income beneficiaries, Belgian school teachers, guides of the City of Brussels
Free: 0-18 years (individually or in groups), Friends of RMAH; Members of ICOM-Vlaanderen, ICOM / Wallonie-Bruxelles card holders, Science Policy (Belspo) staff card holders, journalists on presentation of a valid press pass, Brussels Card, museumPASSmusées, Riebedebie, 365.be, European Disability Card
Article 27 : €1,25

Opening hours:

Mondays to Thursdays: 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturdays and Sundays: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Last tickets at 4 p.m.
Closed on Fridays and on the 1th of January, 1th of May, 1th & 11th of November, 25th of December.

With the support of

Aller au contenu principal
affiche de l'exposition Magical Theatres

Magical Theatres

Exposition sur les théâtres en papier (prolongation jusqu'au 04.06.2023)

Le théâtre en papier, théâtre miniature ou théâtre de table, était, autrefois, une source de plaisir pour petits et grands, aujourd’hui, un peu tombé dans l’oubli. L’exposition Magical Theatres vous fait revivre le monde magique de ce jouet, ses merveilleux décors colorés et ses petits acteurs de papier. La Porte de Hal vous ouvre les portes d’un univers rempli d’histoires, des pièces de Shakespeare aux contes des frères Grimm.

Ces charmantes œuvres d’art apparues voici deux siècles reflètent la grandeur des scènes théâtrales européennes et témoignent de l’univers intime des familles du 19e siècle. L’exposition dévoile des exemplaires complets de l’époque et de belles planches en papier d’origine non découpées. Des créations d’artistes actuels y sont également présentées. Le Chat botté animé guide les enfants dans l'exposition.

L'exposition se déroule au troisième étage du  bâtiment féérique du Musée de la Porte de Hal. Ce vestige de la seconde enceinte de Bruxelles vous fait découvrir, dans une présentation permanente, l’époque où la ville était fortifiée et propose un panorama impressionnant depuis son chemin de ronde. Les expositions temporaires qui y sont présentées annuellement mettent l'accent sur divers aspects de la vie quotidienne d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, en puisant régulièrement dans les collections d'Ethnologie européenne des Musées royaux d'Art et d'Histoire.

Un audioguide lié à l'exposition et à la Porte de Hal vous est offert à l'achat de votre ticket d'entrée. Ce ticket vous donne accès à tout le bâtiment de la Porte de Hal, à son panorama et aux collections permanentes. Le ticket d'entrée vous donne également la possibilité de recevoir une réduction sur le prix d’entrée au célèbre Théâtre Royal de Toone ( voir www.toone.be) de Bruxelles.

Magical Theatre théâtre miniature 1

Théâtre miniature Neurenberg, ca. 1830, Bois peint

Théâtre miniature Neurenberg, ca. 1830, Bois peint

chat botté

le chat botté

le chat botté

Marionnette Magical Theatres

marionnette ancienne exposée dans Magical Theatres

marionnette, Théâtre Famille Van Weymeersch, 1828-1864

Infos pratiques

Tarifs :

Les tickets d’entrée peuvent être achetés à la caisse ou en ligne par créneau horaire. Imprimez vos billets ou préparez-les sur votre appareil mobile. Présentez-vous à la caisse le jour-même à l’heure sélectionnée, avec votre carte de réduction si vous avez sélectionné un tarif réduit ou gratuit (ex : museumPassmusée).

10 € : adultes (19-64 ans)
8 € : 65 +, groupes d'adultes (15 pers. min.), carte FED+
6 € : étudiants sur présentation de la carte étudiants (18+), demandeurs d'emploi et bénéficiaires du salaire minimum, moins valides et leur accompagnateur, personnel de l'enseignement belge, guides de la Ville de Bruxelles
gratuit : 0-18 ans (individuel ou en groupe), Amis des MRAH, membre ICOM, personnel BELSPO, 365.be, Brussels Card, museumPASSmusées, European Disability Card, journalistes sur présentation d'une carte de presse valide
Article 27 : 1,25€

Horaires :

Lundi - jeudi : 9h30 - 17h00
Samedi - dimanche : 10h00 - 17h00
Dernière entrée 1h avant la fermeture
Fermé les vendredis, 1 janvier, 1 mai, 1 et 11 novembre, 25 décembre.

Avec le soutien de